Church History

Nestled at the base of Bellevue Hill the Parish of Emmanuel Church was founded in 1892. Designed by the Reverend Herman Gaylord Wood the Church was dedicated in December 1893.

The Church building is an English cottage design favored by Wood and is echoed by St. John's Church in Winthrop, St. John's Church in Athol, St. Andrew's Church in Ayer, St. Peter's Church in Jamaica Plain, and All Saint's Church in Belmont. In the Diocese of Massachusetts, 13 churches have been positively identified as the work of Herman Gaylord Wood.

With the Parish moving into the Church in 1893 the building itself has continued to evolve throughout the years. Stained glass windows were installed from 1896 through 1950's, in 1907 the chancel and sanctuary areas of the Church were completed. The current Parish House was built in 1924.

The Parish has been a spiritual home to many over the years and currently serves the West Roxbury and Roslindale communities as well as members from other towns in the Boston area. The Parishioners are faithful to the teaching of Jesus Christ and through the years have maintained an open and affirming love for all God's children.